Basic Things You should know about Delta State

Facts About Delta State you may need to know about are given herein. Basal Historical and present-day verities of the State are provided in this article.

History of Delta State

Facts About Delta State
Facts About Delta State – Photo Source:

Read Also: Basic Things You Should Know About Akwa Ibom State

Delta State was created out of the former Bendel State on August 27, 1991. The State came into existence following the agitation for a separate state by the people of the old Delta Province. The State has its capital seat in Asaba.

The State is located in the South-South part of Nigeria and has a land area of 16,842 square kilometers (6,503 sq mi). The State is primarily an oil-producing state. It also engages a lot in agriculture.

The State is nicknamed The Big Heart of the Nation. According to the 2006 census, the state has a total of 4,112,445 population and ranks 9th out of 36.

Governor Arthur Okowa Ifeanyi is the present Governor of Delta State, he is deputized by Kingsley Otuaro both from the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

Delta State shares a boundary with Edo State in the north, Anambra, Imo, and Rivers States in the east, in the southeast with Bayelsa State, and in the southern flank by the Bight of Benin that covers up to about 160 kilometers of the coastline of the state.

Read Also: Basic Things to Know About Adamawa State

Local Government Areas in Delta State

There are 25 Local Government Areas in the State and these include:

  1. Ethiope East
  2. Ethiope West
  3. Okpe
  4. Sapele
  5. Udu
  6. Ughelli North
  7. Ughelli South
  8. Uvwie
  9. Aniocha North
  10. Aniocha South
  11. Ika North East
  12. Ika South
  13. Ndokwa East
  14. Ndokwa West
  15. Oshimili North
  16. Oshimili South
  17. Ukwuani
  18. Bomadi
  19. Burutu
  20. Isoko North
  21. Isoko South
  22. Patani
  23. Warri North
  24. Warri South
  25. Warri South West

Read Also: Basic Things to Know About Adamawa State

Delta State is one of the states in Nigeria with numerous institution

Universities in the State include:

  1. Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun
  2. Delta State University has Abraka Campus, Oleh Campus, and Asaba Campus
  3. Western Delta University, Oghara
  4. Novena University, Ogume-Amai
  5. National Open University of Nigeria, Asaba (Asaba Study Center)
  6. National Open University of Nigeria, Emevor (Emevor, Study Center)
  7. Nigerian Maritime University, Okerenkoko, Warri
  8. University of Information and Communication Technology, Agbor
  9. Edwin Clark University, Kiagbodo
  10. Eagle Heights University, Omadino, Warri
  11. Nigerian Navy Maritime University, Ibusa

Read Also: Basic Things to Know about Cross River State

Polytechnics in the State include:

  1. Delta State Polytechnic, Ogwashi-Uku
  2. Delta State Polytechnic, Otefe-Oghara
  3. Delta State Polytechnic, Ozoro

Colleges of Education in the State include:

  1. College of Education, Agbor
  2. College of Education, Warri
  3. Federal College of Education Technical, Asaba
  4. College of Physical Education, Mosogar

Read Also: Basic Things to Know About Benue State

Other Institutions in the State include:

  1. School of Health Technology, Ughelli
  2. The Film and Broadcast Academy, Ozoro
  3. Petroleum Training Institute, Effurun
  4. Delta State School of Marine Technology, Burutu
  5. Conarina School of Maritime & Transport Technology, Oria-Abraka
  6. State School of Midwifery, Asaba
  7. School of Nursing, Agbor
  8. School of Nursing, Warri
  9. Baptist School of Nursing, Eku
  10. Nigerian Naval School, Sapele

We hope this was helpful to you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.