Basic Things to Know about Cross River State

About Cross River State has basic facts about the State. Basal Historical and present-day verities of the State are incorporated herein.

Cross River Nigeria

About Cross River State
About Cross River State – Photo Source:

Read Also: Basic Things to Know About Bayelsa State

Cross River State which is located in the South-South part of Nigeria was created on May 27, 1967, from the former Eastern Region of Nigeria during the state creation exercise by the General Yakubu Gowon-led military regime.

In 1976, during the State creation exercise, General Murtala Mohammed’s regime changed the name of the State to Cross River, a name derived from the Cross River (Oyono) which passes through the state.

Cross River is a state that is located in the Niger Delta region of the country. It occupies 20,156 square kilometers. The State shares boundaries with Ebonyi and Abia States to the west, Benue State to the north, the Cameroun Republic to the east, Akwa Ibom State, and the Atlantic Ocean to the south.

The present Akwa Ibom State was created out of Cross River State by General Ibrahim Babangida regime in September 1987.

Read Also: Basic Things to Know About Bauchi State

The State is nicknamed The People’s Paradise. The major four languages of the state are French, Boki, Ejagham, and Efik. The State has its capital seat in Calabar.

According to the 2016 Census, Cross River State has a total population of 3,737,517 million and ranks 28 0f 36 in the country.

Benedict Bengioushuye Ayade who before now was a member of the 7th Senate of Nigeria is the present Governor of the State from 29 May 2015 to date and he is deputized by Ivara Esu both from the aegis of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Read Also: Basic Things You Should Know About Anambra State

Institutions in Cross River State

  1. University of Calabar
  2. Cross River State University of Technology, Calabar
  3. Ibrahim Babangida College of Agriculture, Obubra Local Government Area
  4. Cross River State College of Education, Akamkpa Local Government Area
  5. College of Health Technology located in Iboko Okpoma
  6. Federal College of Education, Obudu
  7. Technical College Ugep, Yakurr Local Government Area.

Read Also: Basic Things to Know About Adamawa State

 Local Government Areas in Cross River State

Cross River State has a total of 18 Local Government Areas as follows:

  1. Abi
  2. Akamkpa
  3. Akpabuyo
  4. Bakassi
  5. Bekwarra
  6. Biase
  7. Boki
  8. Calabar Municipal
  9. Calabar South
  10. Etung
  11. Ikom
  12. Obanliku
  13. Obubra
  14. Obudu
  15. Odukpani
  16. Ogoja
  17. Yakuur
  18. Yala

We hope this was helpful!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *